Unify connects to QuickBooks Desktop through a tool call the Unify Desktop Extension. The Unify Desktop Extension facilitates the connection and data transfer process between Unify and the QuickBooks Desktop company file. There are two places a QuickBooks Desktop company file can reside:
- Hosted system: Hosted platform that is accessible using a login and password to access the hosted environment to open the QuickBooks Desktop company file.
Once the Unify Desktop Extension is installed on the hosted platform, the company file connection process will be similar to the local system installation.
- Local system: installed and access from your computer in your location
Upon clicking on Connect to Quickbooks Desktop, Unify Desktop Extension will automatically start to download and you will see a set of instructions.
Once Unify is connected to your QuickBooks Desktop company file, you will be automatically directed to the next step in the onboarding flow setting up how transactions, items, customers and taxes are created in QuickBooks Desktop.
Disconnecting QuickBooks Desktop from Unify
If you have connected Unify to a test QuickBooks Desktop company file account and have already posted orders to that test company file, it is extremely important that you "undo sync" the transactions (if they are real orders) Unify created in the test company, before it is disconnected from Unify.
This will allow you to re-sync those real order to your new QuickBooks Online company file that is connected to Unify.
Technical aspects for the QuickBooks Desktop connection process
- Completely uninstall the Unify Desktop Extension from your hosted or local computer
- Disconnect Unify from the QuickBooks Desktop company file
- Follow the connection procedures for connecting the QuickBooks Desktop company file the UDE and the new file.
The QuickBooks company file can be disconnected from Unify manually and at any time. To initiate, go to the Connections tab and in the Accounting section click on the Disconnect link.
Confirm the disconnection by clicking on Yes